Gothic Architecture

  1. Spain Gothic Architecture

    Gothic designs in Spain had many of the same elements of other European countries. However; one of the most distinctive features of Spanish Architecture is the use of Islamic and Arabic influences in patterns, decorations and structure design. Often, structures used domes with a variety of different shapes and sizes to adorn the buildings. Spanish Gothic design was referred to as a hybrid, as it combined both European and Spanish-Arabic influences.

  2. Germany Gothic Architecture

    During the 15th century Germany experimented with Medieval Architecture designs. German architects worked with vault structures in an attempt to create the largest possible spaces with ceiling design. Emphasis was placed on creatinghall churches, which were built with a long section where people could sit, called the nave. On each side of the nave there was a lower aisle; the nave and the isle were fashioned to be the same height. Examples of these hall churches in Germany include St. Martin’s, Landshut.

  3. France Gothic Architecture

    Gothic Architecture in France can be divided into 4 stages of design:

    Late or Flamboyant Style

  4. England Gothic Architecture

    English Gothic Architecture is said to have the most stylistic diversity when compared to other European designs. However; particular features of English design are common among all European countries. Pointed arches, ribbed vaults, flying buttresses, and larger windows are trademarks of this architectural design. Many of the designs developed through different eras in England:

  5. European Gothic Architecture


    Gothic Architecture and design is found all over the world. Wherever the buildings are found, local influences played a role in the design and execution of Gothic structures. Although differences are not substantial, they are distinctive and unique from region to region.



  6. Perpendicular Gothic Period

    Tudor Flower

    Perpendicular Gothic Architecture spanned from 1377 – 1547 and was exclusively an English style of art. Compared to previous styles, this form was more economical in its design. The main feature was the type of tracery used in the head of the windows and inside the buildings. Architects used rigid lines between and among the dividing sections of windows, and these lines were carried through to the moldings. Sections were divided and subdivided by perpendicular lines.

    Key Features:

  7. Decorated Gothic Period


    Decorated Gothic Style spanned from 1300 – 1377 AD. Styles used in this era are also referred to as theMiddle Pointed, Geometric or Flamboyant styles. One of the most notable features of the Decorated style is the type of window tracery that was used in designs.

  8. Early English Gothic Period

    Early English Leaves

    Early English Style of Gothic architecture spanned from 1189 – 1272. During this era, English architects and artists fully embraced this style of art and design. Buildings were mostly free from Romanesque influence and embraced the new structures of medieval architecture, along with ornamentation and carvings.

    Key Features:

  9. Origins

    Mosque Interior

    Also see Abbot Suger, Father of Gothic Architecture 

  10. Characteristics

    Sainte Chapelle - Paris, France

    Architecture is the living voice of the past and a window into history that reveals decades of  theology. Gothic Architecture, also known as Medieval architecture, is the product of multiple generations of influence. Characteristics include the pointed arch, ribbed vault and flying buttress.


Subscribe to Gothic Architecture